Now that the NASCAR Hall of Fame is 10 years old and has a total of 55 members, NASCAR has decided that now is the time for a few changes in the nomination and selection process.

Beginning with the 2021 class the number of inductees will be reduced from five members to three.

NASCAR has also adjusted the format for how the new members will be selected. There will now be two separate ballots – one for modern era drivers and a second for NASCAR pioneers.

Under the new format, the Nomination Committee will select 10 nominees from which two will be selected for induction into the Hall of Fame. A modern era or contemporary driver is one who has entered the sport in the past 60 years (1961-2021). A modern era driver may remain on the list for a total of 10 years at which time he will be moved to the Pioneer Ballot.

A new Honors Committee who will be made up of mostly living Hall of Famers, Landmark Award winners, and Squier-Hall Award winners will select five names for the Pioneer Ballot. The Committee will select five names from which one will be selected to enter the Hall of Fame.

The Voting Committee will meet in Charlotte, North Carolina on May 20 to determine which three drivers will become the newest members of the Hall of Fame.

NASCAR President Steve Phelps noted that up until now, they had 60 years of NASCAR history to catch up on, but now with 55 members, it is time to make some changes.

A number of the members on the Honors Committee will also be serving on the voting panel including Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Ron Hornaday Jr., Dale Jarrett, Roger Penske, Darrell Waltrip and Rusty Wallace.

Additional modifications to the Hall of Fame process involve the crew chief – they must have served in NASCAR for 10 years and be retired for two. Any crew chief with 30 years of NASCAR experience or are at least 55 years of age will also be eligible for nomination and induction.