Next to the annual Grammy Awards, it is one of the biggest days in music – the announcement of the newest members to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

After a fan vote and a panel of music experts the 2020 class of the Rock Hall members have been revealed:
Depeche Mode
The Doobie Brothers
Whitney Houston
Nine Inch Nails
The Notorious B.I.G.

Jon Landau and Irving Azoff will be inducted as non performing members.

As a part of consideration for induction into The Hall are an artist’s impact on other musicians, longevity, technique, and innovation.

The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Notorious B.I.G., and T.Rex were inducted after making the ballot for the first time.

The new members will be inducted in week of events that culminates in the official ceremony on May 2 in the home of the Rock Hall, Cleveland. Tickets for the 35th annual event go on sale February 27.


Depeche Mode were pioneers in electronic and futuristic sounds. And for the past three decades have been thrilling crowds with their sounds.

The Doobie Brothers In Amsterdam
AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS – JANUARY 01: The Doobie Brothers posed in Amsterdam, Netherlands in 1975 L-R Tiran Porter, Jeff ‘Skunk’ Baxter, Michael McDonald, Keith Knudsen, John Hartman, front – Pat Simmons (Photo by Gijsbert Hanekroot/Redferns)

California natives The Doobie Brothers broke on to the music scene in 1972 and are still filling houses with their boundary pushing tunes.


A posthumous induction, Whitney Houston got her start in the church, but her vocal ability put her topping the pop charts, filling venues, and selling millions of albums. Houston died in 2012 as a result of a drug overdose.


Hailing from the home of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland natives Nine Inch Nails began in the studio in the eighties but burst out as a live band in the nineties. As we enter a new decade, NIN continues to rock the stage.


Also a posthumous induction, The Nortorious B.I.G. also known as Biggie Smalls, was born Christopher Wallace in Brooklyn. The rapper broke out after signing to Sean Combs’ Bad Boy Record label. With his unique style of rapping, he topped the charts in Rap, R&B, and Pop. Wallace was shot and killed in 1997 at the age of 24.


The British psychedelic folk rock band T. Rex, also known as Tyrannosaurus Rex in the sixties, began in 1970. Their song “Ride a White Swan” is considered to be the birth of Glam Rock. The band ended in 1977 with the death of Marc Bolan but the band continues to influence musicians and rock bands.

Ahmet Ertegun Award winner Irving Azoff began booking and promoting bands while he was still in college. Since then he has expanded his realm to include being an agent, personal manager, concert promoter, movie producer, independent record label owner, merchandiser, music publisher, and record company CEO. He management duties include the Eagles, Jon Bon Jovi, Gwen Stefani, Christina Aguilera, John Mayer, Journery, Van Halen, and Chelsea Handler.

Ahmet Ertegun Award winner Jon Landau is a rock music journalist who began in the sixties. His contributions include “Crawdaddy!”, “The Phoenix”, and the very first issue of “Rolling Stone”. After spending 10 years at “Rolling Stone”, Landau began a second career as a record producer who has worked with MC5, Livingston Taylor, Jackson Browne, and Bruce Springsteen.


photos courtesy of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame