The 2020 edition of the annual Academy Awards will be presented on February 9. For the second year in a row, there will no official host for the awards gala.

On January 13, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences revealed the nominees for the 92nd annual Academy Awards.

Best Picture nominee “Joker” tops the list of nominations with eleven; “The Irishman”, “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”, and “1917” follow close behind with 10.

In recent years much has been made about the lack of diversity in the annual nominations. That trend continues this year with female filmmakers getting the snub in the Best Director category. However, 62 women did receive at least one Oscar nomination; which makes up about one third of the total number of nominees.

Broadway performer Cynthia Erivo is the only person of colour who earned a nomination this year; one for her role as Harriet Tubman in “Harriet” and one in the song category. Sir Elton John and Randy Newman also earned nominations in the original song category.

But “Parasite” by South Korean filmmaker Bong Joon Ho became the first Korean film to be nominated and only the eleventh time a non-English film earned a nomination in the Best Film category.

As the world of program streaming grows, the online service Netflix earned a record total of 24 nominations including “The Irishman”.

Also among the Netflix nominees is first time nominees President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama with their Higher Ground production company and their documentary film “American Factory”.

Fresh off of her Golden Globe win, Asian Ameircan actress Awkwafina failed to garner any nominations. The animated film “Frozen 2”, Beyonce and her “Lion King” song, the documentary “Apollo 11”, and Jennifer Lopez also failed to earn a nomination in the 92nd Academy Awards.

And the nominees are…
Best Picture:
“Ford v. Ferrari”
“The Irishman
“Jojo Rabbit”
“Little Women”
“Marriage Story”
“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best Actor in a Leading Role:
Antonio Banderas for his role in “Pain and Glory”
Leonardo DiCaprio for his role in “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”
Adam Driver for his role in “Marriage Story”
Joaquin Phoenix for his role in “Joker”
Jonathan Pryce for his role in “The Two Popes”

Best Actress in a Leading Role:
Cynthia Erivo for her role in “Harriet”
Scarlett Johansson for her role in “Marriage Story”
Saoirse Ronan for her role in “Little Women”
Charlize Theron for her role in “Bombshell”
Renee Zellweger for her role in “Judy”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:
Tom Hanks for his role in “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”
Anthony Hopkins for his role in “The Two Popes”
Al Pacino for his role in “The Irishman”
Joe Pesci for his role in “The Irishman”
Brad Pitt for his role in “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:
Kathy Bates for her role in “Richard Jewell”
Laura Dern for her role in “Marriage Story”
Scarlett Johansson for her role in “Jojo Rabbit”
Florence Pugh for her role in “Little Women”
Margot Robbie for her role in “Bombshell”

Best Animated Feature Film:
“How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
“I Lost My Body”
“Missing Link”
“Toy Story 4”

Best Cinematography:
Rodrigo Prieto for “The Irishman”
Lawrence Sher for “Joker”
Jarin Blaschke for “The Lighthouse”
Roger Deakins for “1917”
Robert Richardson for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best Costume Design:
Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson for “The Irishman”
Mayes C. Rubeo for “Jojo Rabbit”
Mark Bridges for “Joker”
Jacqueline Durran for “Little Women”
Arianne Phillips for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best Direction of a Film:
Martin Scorsese for “The Irishman”
Todd Phillips for “Joker”
Sam Mendes for “1917”
Quentin Tarantino for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”
Bong Joon Ho for “Parasite”

Best Feature Documentary:
Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert, and Jeff Reichert for “American Factory”
Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod, and Sigrid Dyekjaer for “The Cave”
Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris, and Tiago Pavan for “The Edge of Democracy”
Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts for “For Sama”
Ljubo Stefanovf, Tamara Kotevska, and Atanas Georgiev for “Honeyland”

Best Short Subject Documentary:
Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam for “In the Absence”
Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva in “Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)”
John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson for “Life Overtakes Me”
Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan for “St. Louis Superman”
Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt for “Walk Run Cha-Cha”

Best Film Editing:
Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland for “Ford v. Ferrari”
Thelma Schoonmaker for “The Irishman”
Tom Eagles for “Jojo Rabbit”
Jeff Groth for “Joker”
Yang Jimmo for Parasite”

Best International Feature Film:
“Corpus Christi” form Poland
“Honeyland” from Macedonia
“Les Miserables” from France
“Pain and Glory” form Spain
“Parasite” from South Korea

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker for “Bombshell”
Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou for “Joker”
Jeremy Woodhead for “Judy”
Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White for “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil”
Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole for “1917”

Best Original Music Score:
Hildur Guonadottir for “Joker”
Alexandre Desplat for “Little Women”
Randy Newman for “Marriage Story”
Thomas Newman for “1917”
John Williams for “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

Best Original Song:
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” from “Toy Story r” by Randy Newman
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” from “Rocketman” by Elton John and Bernie Taupin
“I’m Standing With You” from “Breakthrough” by Diane Warren
“Into the Unknown” from “Frozen II” by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“Stand Up” from “Harriet” by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo

Best Production Design:
Bob Shaw and Regina Graves for “The Irishman”
Ra Vincent and Nora Sopková for “Jojo Rabbit”
Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales for “1917”
Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”
Lee Ha Jun and Cho Won Woo for “Parasite”

Best Animated Short Film:
“Dcera” (Daughter)
“Hair Love”

Best Live Action Short Film:
“Nefta Football Club”
“The Neighbors’ Window”
“A Sister”

Best Sound Editing:
Donald Sylvester for “Ford v. Ferrari”
Alan Robert Murray for “Joker”
Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate for “1917”
Wylie Stateman for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”
Matthew Wood and David Acord for “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

Best Sound Mixing:
Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, and Mark Ulano for “Ed Astra”
Paul Massey, David Giammarco, and Steven A. Morrow for “Ford v. Ferrari”
Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, and Tod Maitland for “Joker”
Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson for “1917”
Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler, and Mark Ulano for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best Visual Effects:
Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken, and Dan Sudick for “Avengers: Endgame”
Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser, and Stephane Grabli for “The Irishman”
Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Elliot Nwman for “The Lion King”
Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler, and Dominic Tuohy for “1917”

Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach, and Dominic Tuohy for “Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”

Best Adapted Screenplay Writing:
Steven Zaillian for “The Irishman”
Taika Waititi for “Jojo Rabbit”
Todd Phillips and Scott Silver for “Joker”
Greta Gerwig for “Little Women”
Anothy McCarten for “The Two Popes”

Best Original Screenplay Writing:
Rian Johnson for “Knives Out”
Noah Baumbach for “Marriage Story”
Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns for “1917”
Quentin Tarantino for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”
Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won for “Parasite”