On November 5 NASCAR officials issued penalties to three Monster Energy Cup Series teams after discovering improperly secured lug nuts on three teams during post race inspections after the AAA Texas 500 on November 3.

As a result of the infractions the crew chiefs for each of the teams were fined $10,000 each.

The Richard Childress Racing number eight car driven by Daniel Hemric with Luke Lambert as crew chief
The Joe Gibbs Racing number eleven driven by Denny Hamlin with Chris Gabehart as crew chief
And the Gaunt Brothers Racing number 96 driven by Parker Kligerman with Mark Hillman as crew chief

were all charged with having one lug nut unsecured.