The five recipients selected for the 2019 Kennedy Center Honors includes a flying nun, the first ever television series, a musical conductor and two Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees.

Each year the Kennedy Center selects five recipients to receive the Honors. These recipients are selected for their artistry and the mark they have left on American culture.

This year award winning actor Sally Field, musical conductor for the San Francisco Symphony Michael Tilson Thomas, singer Linda Ronstadt, R&B group Earth Wind and Fire, and the long running children’s television series “Sesame Street” have been chosen for the Honors.

While the gala event celebrating the recipients careers will take place at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC on December 8, fans will have to wait another week on December 15 to view the celebration on television.

In the case of the group Earth, Wind, and Fire who has seen a number personnel changes over the years; Philip Bailey, Verdine White, and Ralph Johnson have been named as the recipients to attend the festivities.

“Sesame Street” has been a part of children’s television for 50 years and in that tome, thousands of artisans have been a part of the show. Series co-founders Joan Ganz Cooney and Dr. Lloyd Morrisett will be on hand to represent all of those artisans through the years.