On May 9 The Blues Foundation held their annual Blues Music Awards ceremony in Memphis, Tennessee. Little Steven Van Zandt returned to host the gala event.

Along with the regular performances, the festivities ended with an All Star jam session.

Winners of the 2019 Blues Music Awards:

Acoustic Album of the Year: Journeys to the Heart of the Blues” by Joe Lewis Walker, Bruce Katz, and Giles Robson

Acoustic Artist of the Year: Rory Block

Album of the Year: “America’s Child” by Shemekia Copeland

Entertainer of the Year: Michael Ledbetter

Band of the Year: Welch-Ledbetter Connection

Best Emerging Artist Album: “Free” by Amanda Fish

Best Blues Rock Album: “The Big Bad Blues” by Billy Gibbons

Best Blues Rock Artist: Eric Gales

Best Contemporary Blues Album: “America’s Child” by Shemekia Copeland

Best Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Danielle Nicole

Best Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Kenny Neal

Best Blues Bass Player: Cedric Burnside

Best Blues Guitar Player: Monster Mike Welch

Best Blues Harminica Player: Dennis Gruenling

Best Blues Horn Player: Vanessa Collier

Best Blues Piano Player: Marcia Ball

Best Blues Vocalist: Michael Ledbetter

Best Blues Song: “No Mercy In This Land” written by Ben Harper

Best Soul Blues Album: “I’m Still Around” by Johnny Rawls

Best Soul Blues Female Artist: Annika Chambers

Best Soul Blues Male Artist: Sugaray Rayford

Best Traditional Blues Album: “The Blues is Alive and Well by Buddy Guy

Best Traditional Blues Female Artist: Ruthie Foster

Best Traditional Blues Male Artist: Nick Moss

feature photo taken from The Blues Foundation Facebook page