On this championship weekend, the NFL takes a little time off from the Super Bowl hoopla to pay homage to the best players and plays during the 2018 NFL season.

Game and Talk Show host Steve Harvey is the host for the gala even from Atlanta – the site of Super Bowl LIII.

Prior to the first awards presentation, Harvey schooled the audience on how to clap for each other.

A 62 year old Harvey announced that he has seen all 52 of the previous Super Bowl games.

It’s African-American History Month, Harvey announced that it was a moment in history when five of the quarterbacks in the playoffs were African-Americans.

Vanessa Hudgens and Odell Beckham Jr presented the first award of the night for Offensive Rookie of the Year to Saquon Barkley of the New York Giants.

Atlanta Falcons’ Ben Garland won the award for the Salute to Service. Garland is a former member of the military.

The Game Changer Award went to Seattle Seahawks linebacker Shaquem Griffin who has only one hand. Griffin ran the fastest 40 yard dash of any linebacker. Griffin’s message to the crowd was to not let negativity define your life.

The award for Offensive Player of the Year went to Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes.

The award for the Clutch Play of the Year went to the Miami Dolphins for their last minute win – seven seconds left on the clock – over the New England Patriots known as the Miami Miracle.

The Deacon Jones Award for the most sacks in the NFL went to Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald who led the league with 20 ½ sacks for the season.

The winners of the Air and Ground Players of the Year went to Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes and New York Giant Saquon Barkley.

The Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award went to New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

The award for Coach of the Year went to Chicago Bears Coach Matt Nagy.

The inductees for the 2019 class of the NFL Hall of Fame:
Safety Ed Reed
Cornerback Champ Bailey
Scout Gil Brandt
Center Kevin Mawae
Cornerback Ty Law
Safety Johnny Robinson
Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen
Wide Receiver Tony Gonzalez

The award for Offensive Line of the Year went to the Los Angeles Rams.

The award for the Best Touchdown Celebration of the Year went to the Seattle Seahawks. An award Steve Harvey noted players are being awarded for something they used to get fined for. Harvey took one of the awards and gave it to Deion Sanders saying that he had the greatest celebrations…that started at the 40 yard line.

The award for Best Comeback Player of the Year went to Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck.

Brett Favre presented the award for Best Moment of the Year to Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers for his performance on an injured leg during a game.

The award for Defensive Player of the Year went to Los Angeles Rams’ Aaron Donald.

The Unstoppable Performance of the Year went to Los Angels Rams quarterback Jared Goff.

The award for Defensive Rookie of the Year went to Darius Leonard of the Indianapolis Colts.

The Most Valuable Player for 2018 goes to Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes.

The award for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award to Philadelphia Eagles Chris Long for bringing fresh water to the people of Africa and for his literacy efforts in the United States. He donated every one of his game checks this season to helping impoverished children.