When the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced their choices for the 2019 Major League Baseball Hall of Fame, there were only four players named, but the event was a historic one.

For the first time in the history of the Baseball Hall of Fame a player earned a score of 100 percent. A player must receive a yes vote from at least 75 percent of the voters in order to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Mariano Rivera, Roy Halladay, Edgar Martinez and Mike Mussina will join the members of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.. Each of the four newest inductees have something unique to offer. Last month Harold Baines and Lee Smith were selected as Hall of Fame inductees by the Game Era Committee.

Relief pitcher Mariano Rivera became the first player to ever receive a vote of 100 percent from the voters. This was the first time that Rivera’s name was placed on the Hall of Fame ballot. As a losing pitcher, Mariano Rivera spent 18 years with the New York Yankees and earned a record setting 652 saves with an ERA of 0.70.

Also a first timer on the ballot, Ray Halliday’s induction will be a posthumous one after he was killed in a plane crash last year. Halliday received 85.4 percent of the vote. Starting pitcher Ray Halladay is a two time Cy Young Award winner who pitched for the Toronto Blue Jays and the Philadelphia Phillies. A first round draft pick in 1995, he became the first pitcher to throw a no hitter and a perfect game in the same season.

Also receiving 85.4 percent of the vote, Edgar Martinez was in his tenth and final year of eligibility when he earned the right to become a member of the Hall of Fame. Edgar Martinez is one of only 10 major league players to hit at least 300 home runs, 500 doubles, and 1,000 walks with a batting average of over .300 and an on-base percentage of .400.

In his sixth year of eligibility, Mike Mussina squeaked by with a vote of 76.7 percent of the vote. Mike Mussina spent 16 years in the Major leagues pitching for the Baltimore Orioles and the New York Yankees.

While Rivera made history, several controversial players who have struggled for votes in the past few years, continue to fall short of the required number of votes, but showed a slight increase in votes including Larry Walker, Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, and Barry Bonds; but none achieved more than 60 percent of the vote.

The 2019 Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held in Cooperstown on July 21.