The Country Music Association opened their 52nd annual Awards ceremonies with a moment of silence and a memorium…not for those we have lost over the past year, but for the 12 innocent Country Music fans who were killed while enjoying the music at a Country music bar in southern California.

The show began with a group performance of “What Makes Us Country” led by Luke Bryan.

Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return to host the annual awards show.

Lady Antebelum presents the first award of the night for Song of the Year to Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson for “Broken Halos”.

Jason Aldean and Miranda Lambert perform “Drowns the Whiskey”.

The award for New Artist of the Year went to Luke Combs.

Thomas Rhett performs “Life Changes”.

Dan + Shay perform their hit song “Tequila”.

The award for Single of the Year went to Chris Stapleton for “Broken Halos”. Stapleton dedicated the award to the people of California.

Lauren Alaina sings a Dottie West song before announcing that West has been inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Kelsea Ballerini performs her hit “Miss Me More”.

Old Dominion performs.

Carrie Underwood sings.

The award for Vocal Group of the Year went to Old Dominion.

Brett Young performs his hit “Mercy”.

Country Music Hall of Fame inductee Ricky Skaggs performs with his band Kentucky Thunder.

Keith Urban joins Skaggs on stage for a performance. Brad Paisley also joins Skaggs for some “Country Boy”.

Midland performs the Jerry Reed hit “East Bound and Down” in a tribute to The Bandit – Burt Reynolds.

Little Big Town present the award for Album of the Year to Kacey Musgraves for “Golden Hour”.

Florida Georgia Line and Bebe Rexha perform “Meant to Be”.

New Artist of the Year Luke Combs performs.

Keith Urban returns to the stage to perform “Never Coming Down”.

Garth Brooks takes the stage to debut a brand new song dedicated to his wife Trisha Yearwood – “Stronger than Me”.

Bobby Bones and Sharna Burgess present the award for Vocal Duo of the Year to Brothers Osborne.

The Pistol Annies perform “Got My Name Changed Back”.

Dierks Bentley joins the Brothers Osborne for a performance of “Burning Man”.

Maren Morris, Mavis Staples, Morgan Stapleton, Marty Stuart, and Chris Stapleton join forces for a performance.

Host Brad Paisley performs “Bucked Off”.

The award for Male Vocalist of the Year went to Chris Stapleton.

Kacey Musgraves performs a song form her CMA winning album “Golden Hour” – “Slow Burn”.

Eric Church performs the title track from his chart topping album “Desperate Man”.

Trisha Yearwood and Dennis Quaid presented the award for Female vocalist of the Year to Carrie Underwood.

Lionel Richie presented the award for Entertainer of the Year to Keith Urban!


Feature photo credit: By Country Music Association –, Public Domain,