Like the Commissioners of the NFL, MLB, and NBA; the job of president of NASCAR is a short list of men who have held the position for many years.

On September 20, NASCAR has named only it’s fifth President in the sport’s 70 year history when Steve Phelps was announced as the sport’s new President. Phelps will assume his new role on October 1.

Prior to becoming President, Phelps held the positions as Chief Marketing Officer, and Chief Operating Officer,

Phelps, who is a lifelong racing fan, called the appointment, “an incredible honour”. Phelps continued, “I want fans to know that I love NASCAR. It’s in my blood; adding for our fans, we will work tirelessly to fulfill the promise of what NASCAR racing is — and that’s the best motorsport product on the planet. It’s our job to continue to fine-tune it and give you more of what you want — close, competitive, side-by-side racing.”

Speaking on the choice of Phelps as the new President, CEO and Chairman Jim France said, “we couldn’t be more thrilled to have Steve Phelps as our leader. His passion for NASCAR and proven ability to work with our partners has been unparalleled over the years.”

Bill France Sr. founded NASCAR in 1948. Since that time France Sr, Bill France Jr, Mike Helton, and Brent Dewar have served as President of the car racing association.

Current President Brent Dewar, will be staying on with NASCAR but will be taking on more of an advisory and consulting role beginning in 2019.