On March 14 NASCAR issued penalties resulting from infractions from the race at ISM Raceway in Phoenix.

The number nine Hendrick Motorsports car driven by Chase Elliott was charged with a violation in the rear suspension. As a result of the infraction, crew chief Alan Gustofson was fined $50,000, car chief Josh Kirk has been suspended for two Monster Energy Cup Series races, car owner Rick Hendrick has been docked 25 car owner points, and driver Chase Elliott has been docked 25 driver points.

The lug nut monster struck in Phoenix with seven teams being charged with violations – five of them in the Monster Energy Cup Series.

The number eleven car driven by Denny Hamlin
The number 12 car driven by Ryan Blaney
The number 17 car driven by Ricky Stenhouse Jr
The number 22 car driven by Joey Logano
and The number 78 driven by Martin Truex Jr.

The respective car chiefs – Mike Wheeler, Jeremy Bullins, Brian Pattie, Todd Gordon, and Cole Pearn have all bee fines $10,000 each for having at least one lug nut loose during post race inspection.

Xfinity Series drivers the number 22 car driven by Brad Keselowski and the number 18 driven by Kyle Busch had one lug nut loose during post race inspection; as a result of the infractions crew chief Brian Wilson and Eric Phillips were each fined $5,000.

While no specifics were given, NASCAR has suspended Brandon J Lee and Wayne F. Kanter indefinitely for behavioral penalties.