On January 2 the Pro Football Hall of Fame released the names of the finalists eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame this year. The new inductees will be announced on February 3 – one night before Super Bowl LII.

The list consists of 15 modern era players and two senior finalists. One third of the finalists have made the list for the first time – four of whom made the list in their first year of eligibility.

The finalists were chosen from an original list of 108 former players. A player becomes eligible for the Hall of Fame five years after retirement from active duty and must receive at least 80 percent of the votes from the selection committee.

The finalists for the 2018 induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame are:
Jacksonville Jaguars tackle Tony Boselli
Houston Oilers linebacker Robert Brazile – senior finalist
St. Louis (now Los Angeles) Rams and San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Isaac Bruce
Philadelphia Eagles and Denver Broncos safety Brian Dawkins
Pittsburgh Steelers, New York Jets, and Arizona Cardinals guard Alan Faneca
In his first year of eligibility Seattle Seahawks, Minnesota Vikings, and Tennessee Titans guard Steve Hutchinson
Washington Redskins tackle Joe Jacoby
Indianapolis Colts, Arizona Cardinals, and Seattle Seahawks running back Edgerrin James
New England Patriots, New York Jets, Kansas City
Green Bay Packers guard Jerry Kramer – senior finalist Chiefs, and Denver Broncos cornerback Ty Law
In his first year of eligibility Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis
Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Denver Brocos free safety John Lynch
Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets, and Tennessee Titans center Kevin Mawae
In his first year of eligibility Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots, Tennessee Titans, and San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Randy Moss
San Francisco 49ers, Philadelphia Eagles, Dallas Cowboys, Buffalo Bills and Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver (and DWTS finalist) Terrell Owens
In his first year of eligibility Chicago Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher
Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, and Cleveland Browns cornerback Everson Walls

General Manager and Personal Administrator for the Kansas City Chiefs, Atlanta Falcons, Miami Dolphins, Washington Redskins, and San Diego Chargers Bobby Beathard is eligible for the Hall of Fame under the contributor category and his contributions to the game of football.